nomadsole.blogg.se

Unraid setup a vm
Unraid setup a vm





unraid setup a vm
  1. #UNRAID SETUP A VM INSTALL#
  2. #UNRAID SETUP A VM FULL#
  3. #UNRAID SETUP A VM SOFTWARE#

These are typically single-use images so that if you wanted to install a web application like Wordpress, you would install the Wordpress base Docker container and install separately the MySQL container for that Wordpress.

#UNRAID SETUP A VM SOFTWARE#

In this way, one installs a stripped down Unix base image (usually something with CentOS or a variety of very small footprint installs), configures all necessary software which usually involves Ngix or Apache for a web interface, and configures a base application like MySQL (or MariaDB) that is ready to use out-of-the-box. It has operating-system-level virtualization called containerization that allows configuring, duplicating, sharing, etc. Docker is similar to VM in that it allows virtualization but goes so much further. Docker- This one was new for me when I started, and I have become a big fan.

#UNRAID SETUP A VM FULL#

Unraid does something unique and allows assignment of complete resources, so, say an entire GPU can be allocated at the hardware level giving full performance This allows one to allocate different amounts of CPU cores, various amounts of RAM, and other resources such as USB devices and graphical resources.

  • VM (Virtual Machine) - This ability allows hosting one or more operating systems on a single hardware structure.
  • High-end options allow for some failover with parity, mirroring, or other backup methods with or without a RAID setup-this is probably where UnRaid gets its name, because it is not a RAID setup- more on that below.
  • NAS (Network Attached Storage) - This involves combining storage (typically TeraByte-size hard disk drives) and hosting volumes for sharing files with devices inside the home network.
  • UnRaid has diverse offerings, most of which the others did not offer: I entertained the idea of FreeNAS but ultimately found it to be a bit limited especially compared to my ultimate choice, Lime-Technology UnRaid. There were quite a few options for on-prem hardware and software, most of them revolved around simply hosting files. I already had fast hardware and large drives, so I wanted to take advantage of that without further monthly costs of cloud. Option 2 (my choice)- On-premises hardware with UnRaid It is much easier to play around, forget about, then re-learn tools and techniques when it's on your own hardware. It's prohibitively expensive to maintain 24/7 access to a wide range of services. Although AWS Calculator shows nominal individual costs for stoage, compute, and other resources. However, I chose against cloud because of Perhaps one of the more obvious and future-forward options is to do everything on the cloud! This was very appealing since we push our clients this way. I had a few options: Option 1 - Cloud Computing

    unraid setup a vm

    We travel a lot, so I needed to find some way to make these happen with a physically small footprint. I am also into fast-twitch FPS PC games, so I have some good gaming hardware and wanted to maintain the performance. One way I stay ahead is to run my own server to find the latest techniques and get my hands dirty. All-in-One Gaming, NAS, Docker with UnRaid How did I chose the on-prem setup?Īlthough I ply my skills in the data science space, I think being a well-rounded, self-sufficient computer expert is a neccessity to stay ahead of the game.







    Unraid setup a vm